Women’s Olympic football calendar: full dates, times, TV channels to watch all matches of the Tokyo 2021 Games


Who can stop the No.1-ranked United States women’s national football team? This will be the theme of the women’s soccer tournament at the Tokyo 2021 Olympic Games which kicks off on Wednesday, July 21.

Twelve nations are in contention for Olympic football gold in Tokyo in the seventh women’s Olympic football tournament since 1996. The United States has won all but one of the gold medal games, winning it four times. , with Norway and Germany winning the other two. The Germans are the reigning Olympic gold medalists, but failed to qualify for the 2021 tournament.

The Americans’ main challengers for the 2021 gold medal will be Brazil (ranked # 7), Canada (# 8), host Japan (# 10) and European participants Sweden (# 5), the Netherlands (n ° 4). ) and Great Britain (England is ranked No. 6 worldwide).

Australia (No.9) and China (No.15) are used to being competitive in major tournaments, while New Zealand (No.22), Chile (No.37) and Zambia (# 104) are far behind. out of the group stage, let alone the medal round.

How to watch women’s Olympic football in the United States

  • TV channels: NBCSN, USA Network, Olympic Channel
  • Television in Spanish: Telemundo, Universo
  • Streams: fuboTV, NBCOlympics.com, NBC Sports app, Telemundo Deportes app, TelemundoDeportes.com

Television coverage of select matches of the women’s football tournament will be broadcast by five of the NBC family of networks in English and Spanish (match-by-match listings below).

Each football match in the men’s and women’s tournaments will be broadcast on NBCOlympics.com (English), TelemundoDeportes.com (Spanish), the NBC Sports app and the Telemundo Deportes app with user authentication (verification of cable subscription /satellite).

The NBC and Telemundo TV network families are also available on fuboTV (7 day free trial): NBC, NBCSN, USA Network, CNBC, Olympic Channel, Golf Channel, Telemundo and Universo.

2021 Olympic Women’s Football Calendar

NOTE: All matches will be broadcast in the United States on NBCOlympics.com, TelemundoDeportes.com, NBC Sports app and the Telemundo Deportes application with user authentication.

Wednesday July 21 (group stage, day 1)

Match Time (ET) tv channels Flux
Group E: Great Britain v Chile 3:30 Olympic channel, Universo fuboTV
Group F: China v Brazil 4 a.m. NBCSN fuboTV
Group G: Sweden v United States 4:30 American network, Telemundo fuboTV
Group E: Japan vs Canada 6.30 a.m. NBCSN, Universo fuboTV
Group F: Zambia v Netherlands 7h00 Olympic channel fuboTV
Group G: Australia v New Zealand 7:30 American network fuboTV

Saturday July 24 (group stage, day 2)

Match Time (ET) tv channels Flux
Group E: Chile vs Canada 3:30 Telemundo fuboTV
Group F: China v Zambia 4 a.m. N / A
Group G: Sweden v Australia 4:30 NBCSN fuboTV
Group E: Japan v Great Britain 6.30 a.m. N / A
Group F: Netherlands v Brazil 7h00 Universo fuboTV
Group G: New Zealand v United States 7:30 NBCSN, Telemundo fuboTV

Tuesday July 27 (group stage, day 3)

Match Time (ET) tv channels Flux
Group G: New Zealand v Sweden 4 a.m. N / A
Group G: United States v Australia 4 a.m. American network, Telemundo fuboTV
Group E: Chile v Japan 7h00 Universo fuboTV
Group E: Canada v Great Britain 7h00 N / A
Group F: Netherlands v China 7:30 N / A
Group F: Brazil v Zambia 7:30 Telemundo fuboTV

Friday July 30 (Quarter-finals)

Match Time (ET) tv channels Flux
QF 1: E2 against F2 4 a.m. NBCSN fuboTV
QF 2: E1 against F3 / G3 5 a.m. To be determined fuboTV
QF 3: G1 against E3 / F3 6 o’clock in the morning NBCSN fuboTV
QF 4: F1 against G2 7h00 NBCSN (8 am-9am) fuboTV

Monday August 2 (Semi-finals)

Match Time (ET) tv channels Flux
Semi-final 1: winner QF 1 vs winner QF 4 4 a.m. American network fuboTV
Semi-final 2: winner QF 2 vs winner QF 3 7h00 American network fuboTV

Thursday August 5 (gold and bronze medal games)

Match Time tv channels Flux
Bronze: Losers of the semi-finals 4 a.m. American network fuboTV
Gold Silver: Winners of the semi-finals 10:00 p.m. American network fuboTV

Women’s Olympic football: tournament format

The women’s soccer tournament will begin with a group stage that will eliminate four of the 12 teams. The other eight will advance to the quarter-finals and the start of the round of 16.

Group stage: The 12 teams are divided into groups E, F and G, to avoid confusion with the male groups in the AD tournament. The top two teams in each group automatically advance with the top two teams in third place.

The group stage of the round robin awards three points for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. Teams are ranked by points (including the best third-place teams), with the first tiebreakers being goal difference and goals scored, in that order. If the teams are still tied after the second tiebreaker, then there are other predetermined criteria.

Knockout rounds: The top eight teams advance to a knockout knockout round starting with the quarter-finals, then to the semi-finals and finally to the medal matches.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.