San Angelo Central Boys footballers Merizalde and Marburger win first-team honors

Central San Angelo High School seniors David Merizalde and Dylan Marbuger earned first-team honors for the District 2-6A boys’ soccer team, and two of their teammates were selected to the second team.

Sophomore Ashton Tapia and senior Sebastian Espinoza were the Bobcats second-team winners.

Seniors Bobcat Deagan Alvarez and Jacob Little earned honorable mentions.

Frenship’s Jon Olivarez was named Most Valuable Player and he also received the Golden Boot award.

Rounding out the outstanding awards were: DJ Davis, Midland Legacy (Offensive MVP); Amari Everage, Odessa Permian (defensive MVP); Edgar Gonzalez, Frenship (midfielder of the year); Zak Leyva, Midland High (Newcomer of the Year); Christopher Moreno, Legacy (Goalie of the Year); and Chris Bryant, Legacy (Coach of the Year).

Central finished 1-14-5 overall and 0-10-2 in the district.

District 2-6A Boys Soccer Team

District MVP – Jon Olivarez, Wolfforth France

Offensive MVP – DJ Davis, Legacy

Defensive MVP – Middle Amari, Permian of Odessa

Midfielder of the Year – Edgar Gonzalez, French

Newcomer of the year – Zak Leyva, Midland High School

golden boot – Jon Olivarez, French

Goalkeeper of the Year – Christopher Moreno, Legacy

Coach of the year – Chris Bryant, Legacy


Josh Crabtree, Legacy; Alan Martinez, Legacy; Gunner Meade, Legacy; Zam Lian, Legacy; Luis Montalvo, France; Kobe González, France; Cooper Scott, France; Andrew Beck, France; JJ Muela, Odessa High School; Ethan Wagner, Odessa High School; Bryan Ortiz, Odessa High School; Jordan Acosta, Permian; Adrian Martinez, Permian; Noe Rodriguez, Permian; Jerron Garcia, Midland High School; Federico Lopez, Midland High; Andres Munoz, Abilene High School; Ivan Santana, Abilene High School; David Merizalde, center of San Angelo; Dylan Marbuger, San Angelo Center


Alfredo Macias, Legacy; Christian Andrade, Legacy; Rolando Pratts, Legacy; Angel Sorriano, Legacy; Ethan Adams, Franchisee; Jeremiah Adams, Franchisee; Nick Colmenero, France; Noah Lopez, Odessa High School; Mark Diaz, Odessa High School; David Corral, Odessa High School; Damian Gonzales, Permian; Jayden Rubio, Permian; Hector Lujan, Midland High School; Daniel Nunez, Midland High School; Carlos Carrasco, Midland High School; Johnny Rocha, Abilene High School; Joseph Campo, Abilene High School; Ashton Tapia, downtown San Angelo; Sebastien Espinoza, San Angelo Central.


Aiden Fernandez, Legacy; Marcos Jurado, Legacy; Aden Hendricks, Midland; Santiago Salcedo, Midland; Ben Baker, Franchip; Milestone Jackson, France; Camilo Nicholas, Odessa; Jonathan Rodriguez, Odessa; Ernesto Melendez, Permian; Alex Ontiveros, Permian; Noah Bela, Abilene; Dieudonne Miruho, Abilene; Deagan Alvarez, Central; Jacob Little, Central.

Charles Bryce is a journalist who covers sports in West Texas. Send him a topical tip at [email protected] Consider supporting West Texas journalism by subscribing to

Comments are closed.